visa list logo

How to apply for a New Zealand tourist visa - visa requirements

Landscape view of New Zealand

New Zealand visa requirements πŸ‡³πŸ‡Ώ

Last updated:

New Zealand tourist visa

Visa Required

New Zealand tourist visa usually has long stay with a period of 9 months. Applicant is not required to be present when applying for visa and a total of 9 documents are required. Find New Zealand tourist visa application & requirements.


Get New Zealand tourist visa

  • You can visit New Zealand as a genuine tourist for up to 9 months in an 18-month period.
  • The 18-month period is calculated backwards from the last day you intend to be in New Zealand.

Max Stay: 9 months

long Stay

New Zealand tourist visa requirements & documents checklist
9 documents required for New Zealand tourist visa

Visa Application Form

Complete application form for New Zealand

Passport Photo

Photo must be no older than 6 months

Health Document

Negative COVID-19 PCR test result required for all international travellers coming to undefined. The negative PCR test must be issued with in 72 hours of before departure.

Vaccination Document

COVID-19 vaccination proof for travellers coming to undefined. The last dose of vaccine must be taken atleast 14 ays before departure.

Passport Copy

A clear scan copy of passport of applicant's country with the information pages that has signature. Provide the pages of your current passport showing your photo, personal details and passport issue and expiry dates. Must be valid for six months beyond the expiry date of the visa. If you apply online, you must upload a copy of your passport when you apply. You may need to send your passport after you've applied.

Health Document

Proof of health requirements of New Zealand. You may need to have a chest x-ray and/or a medical examination as proof of your good health.

Character Document

Proof of your good character from applicant's country. You may need to provide police certificates as proof of your good character.

Proof of Funds

Proof of enough money for your stay and to leave New Zealand, such as β€’ personal bank statements β€’ Pay slips from employer β€’ Tax records If you are sponsored, your sponsor must provide evidence they can look after you in New Zealand. Evidence can include: β€’ Recent bank statements β€’ Pay slips β€’ Employment agreement β€’ Accommodation ownership or payment of rent

Proof of Return

Proof that you have reasons to return to applicant's country such as: β€’ A letter from your employer stating you plan to return to your job β€’ Proof that you study at a school, college or university in your home country β€’ Proof that you have immediate family members in your home country(photos, marriage certificates etc) β€’ Proof that you can return home β€’ Proof that you own a house or other major assets in your home country
Save 88% internationally
πŸ’³ No ATM fees in New Zealand
0$ fees
powered by Β safetywing logo
Travel Medical Insurance
πŸ₯ for New Zealand
$42 / 4 weeks
powered by Β safetywing logo

How to apply for a New Zealand visa - New Zealand visa requirements in 2022?

Travelling to New Zealand? Get New Zealand visa requirements and application. New Zealand offers 3 types of visas to tourists. Citizens of 1 country can visit New Zealand visa free. People of 65 countries can get visa online. Citizens of 170 countries need to obtain a visa before visiting. Tourist visa has a maxiumum stay of 9 months. New Zealand is part of Oceania with main city at Wellington. Its Developed country with a population of 5M. The main currency is New Zealand Dollar. The languages spoken are English and Māori.
Have any suggestions for visa details?
Disclaimer: The information in the site should be used as a guide only. You are advised to contact your local official mission/consulate/embassy and ensure you have the latest information. We take no responsibility.